studio im HOCHHAUS

07.09.
14:00

Podo – Performance art festival

Podo – Performance art festival
© Bbeyond, 2022

Performances by Bbeyond

Bbeyond is committed to promoting the practice of performance art and artists in Northern Ireland and further afield. Our aim is to raise people’s consciousness of live/performance art as being integral to the world in and around us, inspiring reflection and enriching lived experience. We host artists of international reputation throughout the performance art world and encourage newer artists to experience performance art practices for themselves. Bbeyond encourages greater access to and appreciation of this visually based art form, through facilitating modes of active private/public participation, allowing people from all sectors of society, not just the traditional arts, to experience and enjoy performance art directly.
This hypothesis for Bbeyond has a two-fold nature, one the ‘actual’, the other liminal, one based on the physical/literal journey, the other on a more elusive journeying through the process of being and becoming. The literal, overtly physical aspect predominantly deals with the location of Belfast, by hosting international artists here to present work alongside local artists, the knowledge and consciousness of performance art grows through increased exposure to other modes of practice, opening up possibilities of wider connections. The liminal nature deals with transition, transformation and transcendence. This is the more subtle aspect and the power of the work rests in that it can only be realised in the process of actual being and doing. ‘Bbeyond’ has the potential to become a directional force towards a lived philosophy of being, that continues long after the framing of any specific performance has ended, becoming the real transitioning and transforming energy in the life consciousness of the practitioner, to literally ‘Be beyond’.

 

Podo – Performancekunst-Festival

Performance art is a region that collects practices which don’t quite fit into other genres. As such, each artist’s practice is unique and has its own goals and priorities. In addition, performance art often involves risk-taking, both in terms of artistic choices and the physical demands themselves. Risk and care can, at best, lead to powerful and transformative experiences for performers and audience.
During the first week in September 2023, the Studio im Hochhaus once again features contemporary performance art made for this occasion and venue by Berlin-based and international artists. We appreciate presenting here because the site is specific in its physical opportunities and especially in the interplay of interior and exterior space. For this iteration, we partner with Grüntaler9 in Wedding, the performance events will be distributed between the two locations..

The festival opens on Friday with three Berlin-related performers at the Studio im Hochhaus, followed by barbeque, music and dancing. Then continues Monday to Thursday with afternoon group performances by Bbeyond at Studio im Hochhaus, followed by individual evening performances at Grüntaler9. A detailed schedule will be released closer to the event.

Anja Ibsch, curating such an event at Hochhaus for the third time, is joined by her collaborator, Adri Disman for this iteration of the festival. Both curators strive to support the spaces of exchange and conviviality in festivals. As curatorial collaborators, they are committed to encouraging risk and experimentation on the part of the artists they support.

Podo – Performance art festival
© Bbeyond, 2022
Coordinates of this location not found

studio im HOCHHAUS

Zingster Str. 25
13051 Berlin

studio im HOCHHAUS

07.09.
14:00
 Uhr

Podo – Performancekunst-Festival

Podo – Performancekunst-Festival Kopieren Kopieren
© Bbeyond, 2022

Performances von Bbeyond

Bbeyond hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Praxis der Performance-Kunst und Künstler:innen in Nordirland und darüber hinaus zu fördern. Wir möchten das öffentliche Bewusstsein dafür schärfen, dass Performance-Kunst ein integraler Bestandteil der Lebenswirklichkeit ist, zum Nachdenken anregt und die Lebenserfahrung erweitert. Wir laden internationale Künstler:innen ein und ermutigen jüngere Künstler:innen, die Performance-Kunst selbst zu erforschen. Bbeyond möchte den Zugang und die Wertschätzung für diese Kunstform fördern, indem es Formen der aktiven Beteiligung von Einzelnen und der Öffentlichkeit ermöglicht, so dass Menschen aus allen Bereichen der Gesellschaft, nicht nur aus dem Kunstbereich, Performance-Kunst direkt erleben können.
Diese These hat einen doppelten Charakter für uns, einen „tatsächlichen“ und einen grenzwertigen, wobei der eine auf der physischen/literarischen Reise basiert, der andere auf einer schwer fassbaren Reise durch den Prozess des Seins und Werdens. Der buchstäbliche, offenkundig physische Aspekt hat vor allem mit dem Standort Belfast zu tun. Indem wir internationale Künstler:innen einladen, um ihre Arbeiten gemeinsam mit einheimischen Künstler:innen zu präsentieren, erweitert sich das Wissen und das Bewusstsein für die Performance-Kunst. Übergang, Transformation und Transzendenz prägen diese Beziehungen. Nur im Prozess des tatsächlichen Seins und Tuns äußert sich die Kraft und der unterschwellige Aspekt des Performativen. Bbeyond hat das Potenzial, zu einer orientierenden Kraft für eine gelebte Philosophie des Seins zu werden, zu einer Übergangs- und Transformationsenergie die noch lange nach dem Ende einer einzelnen Performance anhält, um buchstäblich „jenseits zu sein“ (Be beyond).

 

Podo – Performancekunst-Festival

In der Performance Kunst können Praktiken zusammengefasst werden, die sich nicht ganz in andere Genres einordnen lassen. Daher ist auch die Praxis einer jeden Künstler:in einzigartig und hat ihre eigenen Ziele und Prioritäten. Zudem ist Performance Kunst oft mit dem Eingehen von Risiken verbunden, sowohl in Bezug auf die künstlerischen Entscheidungen als auch auf die physischen Anforderungen selbst. Risiko und „Care“ können im besten Fall zu kraftvollen und transformativen Erfahrungen der Akteur:innen und des Publikums führen.

In der ersten Septemberwoche 2023 zeigt das Studio im Hochhaus erneut zeitgenössische Performance Kunst, die von lokalen und internationalen Künstler:innen für diesen Anlass und Ort entwickelt werden. Wir freuen uns besonders auf das studio im Hochhaus, denn es bietet interessante und herausfordernde Rahmenbedingungen, vor allem im Zusammenspiel von Innen- bzw. Außenraum. Es wird eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Grüntaler9 in Wedding stattfinden, die jeweiligen Formate (Workshops, Gesprächsrunden, etc.) werden sich auf die beiden Orte verteilen.

Das Festival wird am Freitag mit drei berlinbezogenen Künstler:innen im Studio im Hochhaus eröffnet, danach Grillen, Musik und Tanz. Weiter geht es von Montag bis Donnerstag mit nachmittäglichen Gruppenperformances von Bbeyond im Studio im Hochhaus, gefolgt von individuellen Performances in der Grüntaler9. Ein detaillierter Zeitplan wird kurz vor der Veranstaltung veröffentlicht.

Anja Ibsch, die erneut hier kuratiert, arbeitet diesmal mit Adri Disman zusammen. Beide legen besonderen Wert, Räume des Austauschs und der Begegnung zu gestalten. Ihnen liegt es am Herzen, die Risikobereitschaft und die Experimentierfreudigkeit der von ihnen eingeladenen Künstler:innen zu unterstützen.

Podo – Performancekunst-Festival Kopieren Kopieren
© Bbeyond, 2022

Teile diese Veranstaltung

Veranstaltung speichern

Coordinates of this location not found

studio im HOCHHAUS

Zingster Str. 25
13051 Berlin